One of the oldest italian Pharmacies, right in middle town, in front of Palazzo Vecchio and near Galleria degli Uffizi.
Opens every day, holidays included, from 8:00 AM until 10:00 PM most of the staff can speak english and french and there are also spanish, russian and arabic mother-tongued pharmacists.
Right in middle town, surely it is one of the oldest pharmacy of Florence. it’s situated on the ground floor of a palace in via Calzaioli, that, since 1266 was the headquarters of l’Arte dei Mercanti o di Calimola, as testifies a headstone on the facade and the creasts that portray an eagle wielding a ball of yarn and that are placed on the facede too. On the outside the palace has a medieval vibe and it has tented arches that are emphasised by cap seals and big rustic pins.
La Spezieria del Canto di Diamante ( the Apothecary)
The founding of Molteni Pharmacy is due at the end of 19th century, even if there are news about an apothecary since the 12th century and that’s why the modern pharmacy is called its heir. Where the Pharmacy is located nowadays it stood the Apothecary which insignia was a Diamond. The Diamond can be attribuable to the importance of gems in a town famous for Jeweler’s art or maybe on the same site there was a gathering place for gems merchants.
Instead nowadays, like in the past, there’s the Pharmacy which is the place where is dispensed the most precious thing: health. The Apothecary was owned by noble Florentine families and during the centuries was witness of events and important meetings: rumors said that was frequented by Dante or that in 1297 (as evidenced by an inscription bricked up on the wall of via Porta Rossa) two friars of Bologna, Roderigo and Catalano, known as the pacemakers, hosted their gatherings.
From Apothecary to Molteni Pharmacy (1556-1892)
In the middle of 16th century, noble Corsini was the owner of the Pharmacy
In 1892 thanks to Alitti brothers, two young pharmacists of Marche ( an italian region), is due the foundation of the Molteni Pharmacy and in that period were done some of the internal restructurings, that nowadays still host the clients, such as the groined vaults decoreted by wonderful glided stuccos and furnitures such as a closet along the walls and an L-shaped counter with gold inlays depicting some Medici’s emblems, both were designed by the sculptor Giovanni Duprè (1817-1882)